Provinces Assign Departments for Computer Emergency Response Teams

All four provinces in Pakistan—Punjab, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP), Sindh, and Balochistan—have designated specific departments to act as their provincial Computer Emergency Response Teams (CERTs). According to sources, Punjab selected the Punjab Information Technology Board (PITB), while Sindh chose its Science Department. KP designated the KP IT Board, complementing its existing Computer Emergency Response Center (CERC), and Balochistan also assigned its Science Department to this role.


Officials from the Ministry of IT and Telecom confirmed that the provinces have communicated their selections. The Ministry is now establishing a CERT council, receiving nominations from academia, industry, and civil society. This council will oversee cybersecurity measures and initiate the formation of important CERTs, providing recommendations for both Sectoral and Provincial CERTs. The federal government will officially notify the designated provincial CERTs following these recommendations.


The CERT Rules, 2023, outline a structure that includes National, Provincial, Government, and Sectoral CERTs. The National CERT was notified in March this year. With the formation of the CERT council, coordinated efforts to address cybersecurity issues nationwide will commence.